New to QS, lots of questions

tsteele93

First, let me say that I am new to projectors and my initial impression of QS was, "Wow! This software is pretty amazing and I can get up and running instantly with no experience whatsoever!" it really is amazing... BUT, as I delved deeper into the program, I ran into some surprising brick walls.

My perspectives based on being a "computer guy" who generally can figure out software. I also have a number of years experience editing photos, video and audio with professional programs. And a lot of my expectations are based on video editing and photo editing. I expected QS to work very much like those programs because it IS very much like those programs in many ways...

So I hope this is just my newness and ignorance. But I am starting to feel very fenced in... Hopefully one of the Pangolin fans or reps can show me where I am going wrong... And it is very possible that is the case.

I'll start with sharing my work. (Yes, it is MY work, i just used QS as the tool to create it - right?) I downloaded some ild files from a laser/projector forum tonight. Including badger's cartoon graphic files. My 5 year-old son loves Robin from Batman & Robin so I was excited to find an ild file of Robin! (Ok, so in this case, it is badger's work, but still...)

I loaded it into Quick Show as a cue. (Maybe this is where I am going wrong?) Next I loaded it into the frame / animation editor. As the readme file from badger suggested, it needed coloring in and I also wanted to make a few small changes to try and improve my fps by dumbing it down in the hair and a couple of other spots.