Designing 8 Channel Solenoid Driver For Projector

markerney

I am not an expert by far (I'm a beginner) and I'm seeking help in designing a relativly simple driver circuit to drive (8) Ledex 24 volt solenoids. They draw right at 500ma each but I would like to pretend they are 1 Amp to OVER BUILD the circuit so we account for overlap and feedback voltage (I want to build it so it will last without failure). I would like to be able to control the gate with a 5 volt TTL trigger. To be more specific it is to control (8) solenoids that will have mirrors mounted to each one to reflect a laser beam when actuated. The physical switch will be (8) lever arm micro switches that you can tap with your fingers to the beat of music. The reason I want to use a 5 volt TTL trigger is so I can record the trigger on different tracks of a MODIFIED Alesis ADAT recorder and sync them to music and then play them back. Does anybody have an idea of what the best FET I can use for this application would be and how to trigger it using a 5 volt TTL signal? What value diode should I use to protect the FET from the feedback? I would even be willing to pay for some assistance in the design of a circuit! My intention is to use 2 brand new regulated power supplies. If I use a seperate 5 volt regulated power supply for the TTL trigger and a seperate 24 volt regulated power supply for the solenoids load .... does the FET, solenoid and trigger transistor have to share BOTH GROUNDS? If yes .... how do I do this? ANY SCHEMATICS WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED! Thank you sincerely for your time and consideration. Mark Erney