Going blind

NeverDaylight

Hello everybody, Im new to the higher power lasers, although ive been playing with lasers for years.Just a laser lover.I picked up a 1watt RGB and of course Pangolin.Lots of fun.In the past Ive had no problem sitting in front of my4.95 millawatt stinger laser with a dmx and a fog machine impressing myself and friend with beam shows.But now the brightness can be overbearing. I see that there are laser safety glasses out there. My question would be are any of them rated to protect me from my projector? Any help would be much appreciated . Thanks

Since this falls a bit outside the realm of our support I would like to refer you to photonlexicon.com. I am happy to give you what might be considered a "fair" answer but it will not compare the the explination(s) you will get there. Our forum here is a great resource for anything Pangolin but Photonlexicon.com is, in my opinion, the best resource on the Web for anything and everything laser show related.

The short answer to your question is "yes" there are safety goggles that could work in your situation although there are many other solutions beside goggles that will probably produce a better laser show experience. Goggles are mainly for setting up and maintaining a laser. A well prepared laser show will be physically set up in such a way that it is comfortable to watch no matter what the laser projector powers are; this is usually achieved with the palcement of the lasers and where they are set to point. Also, many laser controller applications have some sort of setting that will allow you to attenuate your projector's laser power (if your lasers are analog modulated, not TTL modulated) in areas where your laser projector is projecting. I think all you might need is to adjust where you are pointing your laser projector when you are watching shows and/or to use an Attenuation Map to dim the laser powers some; wearing goggles to watch a laser show is what I might call counter productive. :D