Question about networking

mcyf12

Hi,

I am new to using lasers and Pangolin (I work as a lighting designer and programmer), but i will be using a few lasers for my next few shows.

A few quick questions:

1. What is the maximum length of a ILDA cable? 300metres? is there a way to boost the signal?

2. I will be using 2 QM2000 PRO with a laptop running the show. The QM2000s and laptop will be connected via CAT 5 cables into a network hub.

Is there a way that I can create a network session where I have 2 laptops both running the same show? The idea is to have a backup console in case of a failure. If it helps, I am thinking of a similar concept that is used in the grandMA lighting system.

cheers,
Michael Chan

I dont know the max length of the ILDA cable I always use a short cable and have the network cable as the long one positioning the board close to the laser (although this network cable needs to be boosted bt a switch every 70 meters or so or it looses the QM boards).

2. I will be using 2 QM2000 PRO with a laptop running the show. The QM2000s and laptop will be connected via CAT 5 cables into a network hub.

Why not use 2 switches/hubs, 1 on stage, 1 with your laptop(s).
Then you don't need such long ilda cables, just longer Ethernet cables.

Is there a way that I can create a network session where I have 2 laptops both running the same show?

Yes and no, yes you can attach more than 1 laptop at the same time.
Yes you can run on both on the same time ld2000 software.
I don't know if this is depended on the level of ld2000 you use. With my ld2000 pro this works.

To use a pc as an hot spare as you describe; you can always attach more laptops to the network with the same software.

But to start the software on both machines, i think that would not be wise. You have to set projection zones, palettes and such on every pc.
Also, if you just jump pc's without setting all of the above settings, you could create a unsafe situation.