remote desktop w/LD2000

leak

Hi my name is ian and I am fairly new to pangolin software as well as to the laser display community. My knowledge mostly falls in the laser hardware and physics department.So i was wondering if i was able to use remote desktop to control my laser pc, i have the basic qm2000 card as well as ldpro,showtime,designer. Any help would be greatly appreciated also any pointers for a new laser show designer would be great.

OOPS i just saw a thread that answer my question, as far as i can do so. So a better question would be do i need to have designer on both machines?

I'm going to add another part to this original question. Has anyone used VNC? If so, does VNC carry the audio information across the network? I work in a planetarium where we'd like to have the computer with the QM2000 card in the theater, but be able to do show production in another office. We already have the network wiring all set up. But it would be hard to do production without hearing any sound from the other computer. :sniffle:
(If VNC just carries the screen and mouse/keyboard commands, then it wouldn't be useful.)

-Bill

BillWX:

If you are on a Local Network in the Planetarium, and both computers have the same OS (Windows XP, Vista, or Windows 7), you should be able to use the built in Remote Desktop feature. This brings the screen, mouse, keyboard, and audio to the remote machine. I have not tried this for full programing, but I would think on a fast local network should work fine. You may have to tweek some of the timings on the actual system, as the audio may be slightly off.

Some features may not available in basic versions of Windows software, but depending on what you have, may be worth checking before you spend money on another VNC.

John

Thanks John for the input. The campus network is fast, so I'll have the network people look into using the remote desktop.