Triggering Cues

brandonw88

Hello, I am pretty new to quickshow but so far it's been great till now.

I am trying to trigger the quickshow cues from another program, Light-O-Rama, to the Enttec DMX USB Pro however, the Enttec is not reading the proper DMX signals that are being sent to it. I have verified that Light-O-Rama is sending good signals but for some reason the Enttec is not reading it properly and I have the latest firmware installed to. anyway I am wondering if there is any other way i can trigger the cues in quickshow other than with the Enttec or is that the only way?

the issue with the Enttec is that when i send 3 DMX channels to it, it only reads channel 3 and not reading 1 or 2. I tested it with the light-o-rama DMX console and the Enttec is very inconsistent with its readings. if i move all 16 DMX sliders at once the Enttec shows the proper values received but if move one slider at a time it either sticks to a single value and doesn't change till i drop it to zero or it just automatically drops to zero even though i may have the slider at say 150.

I am still trying to figure out if my Enttec is bad or not but until I do I would like to find alternate methods of getting Quickshow to work with Light-O-Rama.

thanks, hope this makes sense

QuickShow has MIDI input abilities but they are limited compared to our professional software platform BEYOND.

The main limitation that is noticeable is the cues in QS are only selectable by mouse or keyboard input. To get a MIDI controller's notes to control cue selection you need a 3rd party MIDI converter to convert the MIDI notes to keystrokes. Unfortunately, I cannot advise what software to use or how to set it up; I only know you cannot go directly from MIDI to select the workspace cue.

There are many MIDI translators out there; a few have been mentioned on our Pangolin User forum. Here is a specific thread for QuickShow MIDI control: http://www.pangolin.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1502&highlight=MIDI.